"Was John 6:4 added to the Bible?"

This is the place to discuss anything to do with scriptural doctrine. It is the primary purpose of this site, and most discussions will be here.
Forum rules
Matt 18:6; Eccl 7:9; 1 Pet 4:8 (If you're not sure what they say then please hover over them with your mouse or look them up in your own Bible before posting)
Proselytiser of Jah

"Was John 6:4 added to the Bible?"

#1 Post by Proselytiser of Jah » 1 week ago

A very interesting four part video series here. I'm not an expert on this, but I thought I'd introduce this here for those interested in looking into this topic, or may have something of their own to contribute.

They bring up evidence that it's possible John 6:4 was added into scripture later and causes some potential chronological issues with Jesus' ministry and events, and that removing it fixes the raised issues. The first position of the part 1 video speaks of the additions the KJV added to Acts as a topical introduction, so if you want to skip that to the main topic of the video, go to 29:25

"The fruitage of the Spirit is; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control..." Galatians 5:22-23

Proselytiser of Jah

Re: "Was John 6:4 added to the Bible?"

#2 Post by Proselytiser of Jah » 1 week ago

(EDIT, I mean to say skip to 29:25, if I mod could edit my post for me that would be great)
"The fruitage of the Spirit is; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control..." Galatians 5:22-23

Stranger

#3 Post by Stranger » 1 week ago

It's not my own but here's a study note from the NET.

4 sn Passover. According to John’s sequence of material, considerable time has elapsed since the feast of 5:1. If the feast in 5:1 was Pentecost of a.d. 31, then this feast would be the Passover of a.d. 32, just one year before Jesus’ crucifixion.
Seems plausible.

Stranger, (Heb 11:28)

Bobcat

#4 Post by Bobcat » 1 week ago

Hi PoJ,